jump to navigation

Cultural Damage: the last 8 years December 26, 2008

Posted by gordonwatts in life, politics.
trackback

IMG_9082We got our kid a LEGO set this year. I had thousands of bits and my sister and I spent endless hours building things from them (including self-supporting 5 foot long space ships). LEGO is good clean kid fun! It promotes imagination, it definitely isn’t a one-trick toy, after all!

After J-mo opened the present and started playing with it my wife noticed something: there were people (cavemen) and dinosaurs together. Now, no big deal, right? This is a toy, after all. Pretend, and just for fun. 8 years ago I don’t think any of us would have noticed this. Now however, things are much more polarized. It just amazes me that we even thought about this. How is it that imagination has been this ruined by these 8 years of cultural wars? To take the edge of the fun of LEGO?

I really hope that the change in presidency is more than just a change at the top and we can waste less time on these cultural wars and get back to making the USA work. What a waste.

I had a fantastic Christmas; I hope everyone else did as well! [Ok, odd note to end the post on…] And I hope your travel was a lot less traumatic than mine was!

Comments»

1. Aleksie - December 27, 2008

Cool gift for your kids. It is interesting that your wife would experience such insight with the Legos.

2. gordonwatts - December 27, 2008

Yeah — that is exactly the point. That we would notice it at all. I’m willing to bet about 8 years ago none of us would have noticed this.

3. Lisa Smith - December 31, 2008

Legos were the best. I too had a childhood which involved hours of Lego time with my brother (including mammoth spaceships). Even when I was outgrowing them, they were starting to introduce new props and adornments which were a bit “new school”… However, I do remember we had a gas station set (LOL!), which even had a commercial logo – I think it was Exxon. That must have gone the way of the dinosaurs. Now I would hope their themes would send messages to children which promote alternative fuels and transportation!

4. gordonwatts - December 31, 2008

I’m definately old-skool. We have a huge box full of the stuff, just waiting for J-mo to grow a little older (we might have to wash them – there was a cat-pee incident). The most new fangled thing we had were a few radar dishes. I think I’d stopped by the time the gas station came out – but I do remember that! One of my favorites were the huge tires!😉

Ah, the old days!


Leave a Reply

