jump to navigation

When Scared Gets Scared November 11, 2008

Posted by gordonwatts in politics.
trackback

Yeah, it can be scary out there. Chuck Norris kind-of scary out there. On one had you have:

Chuck Norris destroyed the periodic table, because he only recognizes the element of surprise.

and on the other:

Chuck Norris tried to roundhouse kick Barack Obama, but he blocked it. With Hope. To this day, Chuck Norris has a Hope-shaped burn mark on his shin.

I stumbled on that posting when I was looking for an open letter Norris had written to Obama. I started the blog posting with those quotes to lighten the mood. The letter is exactly what you would expect from someone on the far right of the political spectrum – basically turn on every campaign promise you’ve made and govern the right way. My way. The only reason I can think of that he wrote that letter was so he could say later: “Well, I tried to tell him!” or… well, I can’t really imagine. But the calls warning of Obama dictatorships are already starting. Whatever.

The real reason I’m writing this blog posting is that web site. Wow. The first add I saw was a flash add from a colledge guide (www and .org) that starts with the nice tag line “Don’t throw your money away! Find the whole truth about America’s top schools” and then it slides over to “Co-ed bathrooms!? Political indoctrination!? Sham academics?!?” Tee shirts for sale “I’d rather be water boarding”. Another cool article headline from the site: “How many wise men saw Jesus in a manger? Not 3!” I actually clicked on that before I realized it wasn’t some archeological find rather than a different reading of some bible verse…

Napster advertises on that web site. Oh, what lows…

Comments»

1. George - November 12, 2008

Chuck Norris said he normally refers to black.
Just why Obama became president;)

2. Lisa Smith - November 13, 2008

In the context of all those quotes, I thought maybe the “wise men” part was going to be a play on words, like, nobody who did see him was actually wise, so no wise men saw him. Reminds me of something outrageous I heard once, about the Jack Abramoff lobbying scandal from a few years ago… it was Tom DeLay or Michael Scanlon – when brought into jail custody, he said he hoped people would see Jesus in his mugshot. Pleading innocent is one thing, but that takes it to a whole ‘nother level!


Leave a Reply

