jump to navigation

Now I Know My Wife Doesn’t Like Me October 1, 2008

Posted by gordonwatts in politics.
trackback

She made me watch the Palin interviews with Couric. Up to now I’d been basically ignoring all the press and interviews – though one can’t help but listen to various blogs and pundits. I am planning on listening to the debate on Thursday evening. But, wow. Short of being nervous getting interviewed by Couric, I’m pretty sure I could have done better and I’m not a McCain supporter! If McCain does manage to win this election I hope, for the good of the country, Palin goes on a crash learning course.

Watching the financial meltdown I’ve seen many of the Republicans in the house who voted no use ideology to justify their votes (“big government is not good”). This knee-jerk reaction rather than willing to do the hard work it takes to understand a problem is what I get afraid of when I hear someone speak the way Palin speaks. Maybe she will be better once she knows what she is talking about? And it really makes me wonder: what was McCain thinking when he put her on the ticket? Was it really just about Clinton and the voters? I can understand that calculus coming into play if you are faced with two nearly equal choices – but overwhelming other basic criteria? No.

Remember, when you watch the debates, keep science in mind! Both from the point of view of how the people there think about it and also how it affects and influences the various programs they talk about.🙂

Comments»

1. Lisa Smith - October 1, 2008

I think trying to pick up disenfranchised Clinton voters has everything to do with it. It seems that the higher profile the politics, the more surface treatment it becomes. But I shouldn’t comment, because I’ve been woefully out of touch with politics in recent times. I need to get caught up…

2. Gordon Watts - October 1, 2008

Lisa, yeah – it does seem that way. Perhaps Palin is good – but she isn’t ready for this level of office. She needs more “training” (be in the senate or the house-of-rep at least) – something with some national exposure. Alaska is a little too isolated – or, at least, she seems to have been a little too isolated. But I just have trouble wrapping my head around someone being serious for president and then saying the vice-president doesn’t really matter.

3. Lisa Smith - October 1, 2008

Isn’t Bill Clinton’s VP a perennial joke? I don’t know if there was hidden genius in that man (I’ve never really educated myself on Quayle to have a valid opinion), but if that set any kind of standard then who knows…. People talk about McCain’s age, so one has to be serious about the idea that his vice president could end up taking over, too… indeed, the choice is not a light one. (In case it is not clear, I am not taking any sides, just discussing…)

4. Gordon Watts - October 1, 2008

I think you mean Bush senior – that was Quayle. Clinton has Gore as his VP. Both Gore and Quayle had various amounts of experience in the senate before being tapped for VP. Gore for many years and I htink Quayle for 4(I guess I’m too lazy to look it up this late).

A guy from political video-blogged a comparison of how much experience all of our previous VP’s had. All but two of them had considerably more. One had less, and the other had the same.

5. Gordon Watts - October 1, 2008

Sorry “A guy from politico” is what I meant.

6. Lisa Smith - October 1, 2008

Okay, I feel like such an ASS. Never let me comment on blogs when I’ve been drinking. Grr…..!! My facts are all screwed up.

7. Nick - October 1, 2008

That guy who video blogged a comparison of previous VPs is Lawrence Lessig, a really smart guy for whom I have a lot of respect. His video is shown here. He has a couple other similar videos relating to this election that you should definitely watch if you have an extra couple minutes.

8. gordonwatts - October 1, 2008

I saw that Nick — that was a great video.

9. Lisa Smith - October 1, 2008

It was a good video! In addition to the balanced historical view, the resonating idea it left was that we have Decrepitude + Inexperience on the McCain ticket, in a time when we can least afford to toy with our country’s leadership needs.

10. Gordon Watts - October 1, 2008

Amazing how persuasive a quiet, reasoned argument can be!


Leave a Reply

