jump to navigation

A Conference. All At Once. July 4, 2008

Posted by gordonwatts in computers.
trackback

The box below, once you’ve installed Silverlight (just click, perhaps you have to restart your browser) is all the slides of Hadron Collider Physics Symposium. To get the full effect load this web page and expand your browser to be the full size of your screen. Use your left mouse button to move around, and a scroll wheel to zoom in or out (track pad isn’t so easy, sorry). Cool, eh?

I’ve often written about how we in HEP don’t use modern software for our work. Most of the tools we use are quite old. But all this Web 2.0 stuff has passed us by. By the very nature of this I can’t contribute much other than comment off to the side (no time to write my own HEP social networking site!).

But I did find something I can do that didn’t take much time. It is so-called deep-zoom, similar to what all the mapping programs do when you zoom in, except it does fading.

I’ll write a little more about it in a future web posting.

Comments»

1. It’s The Weekend « Life as a Physicist - October 3, 2008

[…] Lots of things have been dropped. I hardly read blogs anymore. Which sucks; I miss all the particle physics gossip that is going on. I now have lots of 1/3 written blog postings (1/3 is being charitable). My hobby has ground to a halt (i.e. I’ve made no progress finishing up this). […]


Leave a Reply

