jump to navigation

Like Red Meat To Dogs June 7, 2008

Posted by gordonwatts in D0.
trackback

So, what is the quickest way to fill up an experimental particle physicist’s InBox? Write an email that looks something like this:

I’d like to propose we change our shift schedule. Instead of shifts from 12pm-8am, 8am-4pm, and 4pm-12pm how about 4am-12am, 12am-8pm, and 8pm-4am? I think it would help everyone get a better night’s sleep.

Whew. That was proposed on one of D0’s mailing lists yesterday and I think I’ve got over 15 massages on that topic alone in an hour and they are still flowing in.

It is a great debate. I personally don’t care one way or the other. It is serious stuff for some — especially when families and teaching schedules are involved. And of course, everyone’s biological clock will likely make them prefer one or the other.

Good luck resolving this, D0. I’ll just continue to do the owl shift (12pm-8am) or the vampire shift (8pm-4am) if we change the schedule.

Comments»

1. wolfgang - June 7, 2008

> I think I’ve got over 15 massages

You are one lucky guy😎

2. carlbrannen - June 9, 2008

I think your hours would be easier. The really important thing, is to not rotate shifts too often.

3. Eric - June 13, 2008

“how about 4am-12am…”

I absolutely love 20 hour shifts!

4. Gordon Watts - June 13, 2008

🙂 I swear I’ve had a few of those!! Oh well. Too late to fix; may as well leave a bit of humor in the blog.


Leave a Reply

