jump to navigation

0 to 60 in 3 weeks May 15, 2008

Posted by gordonwatts in physics life.
trackback

One of the nice things about being on a new experiment is that I’m not key to its operation. If I don’t do something, or if I sleep late then the experiment won’t be impacted. Not having that responsibility is nice – relaxing. I’ve been operating like this for almost a year now. I and a student and a bunch of others have been working hard to release a note on bottom quark tagging calibration. Fun, and will become key when data arrives. But real data will arrive only if we are lucky later this year. So, not so much pressure.

But, frankly, I’m getting tired of no pressure! There is definitely a part of my personality that likes being in the thick of it.

About 3 weeks ago I started working on a high priority software task – modifying how we write out some of our b-tagging data. The reason this is high priority is we are preparing our software for the first data – so all major changes like this need to go in so we aren’t stuck with the data in an old format. A little bit scary – all of a sudden I’m giving updates in several meetings, I get asked about how things are going in random emails. And I’m deep in the middle of the code muck – something I really don’t understand at a fundamental level.

Have to say, it is fun!! Hopefully I won’t tire of the fun until after I’ve finished the task!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

