jump to navigation

English in the Air April 28, 2008

Posted by gordonwatts in life, Marseille.
trackback

This weekend, walking down the main drag in Marseille to the old port, I was surprised multiple times to hear conversations in English going on around me.

Summer is coming, and along with it tourists. When I was here first in 2005 it wasn’t so back. Just a few sitting in the bars along the old port. But now lots of people show up – both French and non-French. The town is really changing.

Summer is wonderful in Marseille. Warm, with enough wind to keep you from suffocating, and always sunny. Only one problem. At the end of summer it will be time for Paula, Julia, and I to return to Seattle. And teaching.

Comments»

1. Estelle Heron - April 28, 2008

Marseille is also very pleasant in the Spring but without the tourists. When I was visiting, we seemed to be the only English-speakers. I miss being there and understand completely your reticence about returning to Seattle, but I’m sure you’ll be happy to be back there too.

2. gordonwatts - April 28, 2008

Definately — I do miss Seattle as well (and even teaching) – but I have to say that I’m not quite done with this lifestyle yet…


Leave a Reply

