jump to navigation

A Nice Bio in Scientific American April 2, 2008

Posted by gordonwatts in politics.
trackback

Bill Foster, the physicist who recently won Hastert’s old house seat, has a gotten a good write up in Scientific American. I like it because it really does describe some of his contributions to the accelerator at Fermilab. Most write-ups I’ve seen just say “He used to work at Fermilab.”

Calamitous budget cuts make it all too obvious why scientists should take a more active role in the political process, Foster says. “They are shooting themselves in the foot,” by not getting involved, he says. He urges researchers to brush up on congressional policy and keep their representatives informed about their work. “You do get listened to,” he says. Or in some cases, elected.

This article was pointed out to me by my Dad – because there is a quote from my blog in there. And I have to say, its placement is rather embarrassing (how many people will read it just because of that, huh!?). I know many friends that donated money to Foster’s campaign and they donated far more than I did – so this makes also me feel pretty cheap (cheap and embarrassed all in one article)! Still, I’m glad people are reading my blog!

Comments»

1. JR Minkel - April 3, 2008

Hi Gordon,

Glad you noticed the story. Sorry to have embarrassed you!

This reminds me, I forgot to link to your post. I might have to correct that, for posterity…

2. gordonwatts - April 3, 2008

Hi JR – no problem. It is good to be embarassed every now and then — keeps one honest. No worries about the linking.

But the important thing is lots and lots of people donated money to his campaign – My $250 was a drop in the bucket.

3. JR Minkel - April 3, 2008

Duly noted–I now see this link:
http://www.wurfwhile.com/blog/2007/10/16/bill-foster-leads-small-donor-totals-in-14th-congressional-district-race/

“The Foster campaign reported 680 contributors in the third quarter filing period with an average donation of just over $300.”

And that was back in October.


Leave a Reply

