jump to navigation

Something about train stations in Europe… February 29, 2008

Posted by gordonwatts in life.
trackback

IMG_1109

I’ve always liked trains. Perhaps it was caused by the train wall paper that my parents put in my room. I used to own O-gauge and HO-gauge train sets. My favorite magazine as a kid for a while was Model Railroad (can’t find a link to it now). One of my favorite trips was several day Amtrak trip from Chicago to Nevada with my Dad.

At any rate, there is something about the train stations in Europe. Perhaps it is the chance to go somewhere “far” away – I’ve been in train stations with signs for Russia, for example. As opposed to New York (while in a station in New Jersey). Perhaps it is the design of the places.

But the one that strikes me the most is the open area around master train departure board – the one in the Charles de Gaulle airport is shown here. I’ve been at similar places in America – like the one in Penn station in New York. But it isn’t the same. The people waiting around aren’t waiting for 30 minute rides to central Jersey. They are waiting to go somewhere. Suit cases, not brief cases.

And there is just no comparison with airports – especially now with all the security.

Comments»

1. Paolo - March 3, 2008

Charles de Gaulle

2. gordonwatts - March 3, 2008

Thanks, fixed.


Leave a Reply

