jump to navigation

Alternate What’s New February 14, 2008

Posted by gordonwatts in politics, science.
trackback

Well, it looks like What’s New is having only a short furlough. In the comments of my post, however, David Pace wondered what would happen if we had a community What’s New. David wrote a what’s new, which is really good — click through to read it. David — how long did it take you to write that?

But that would be a great idea. One could create a blog which had a series of writers – all looking for what’s new style goings on. Each post would be one. Then a senior editor (a.k.a. Bob Park) could sift through this raw material and pick out the themes and send a mass mailing which would have a much larger audience.

Of course, we don’t need to do that now, since Bob’s back!!

BTW – David is a graduate student. I’m quite happy to see he spends a little of his time being aware of how science and politics interact in the USA. The more we have doing that, the better. Of course, you can go to far (as in… not get your Ph.D. because you get distracted!).

Comments»

1. pace - February 15, 2008

It took a few hours to write, but they were spread across the week. After posting my comment on your original item, I opened a text file on my desktop and added notes to it as I read relevant blogs and news. Late Thursday night I reviewed the notes and composed my blog entry.

Thank you for the publicity, I’m glad you liked the write up.

Now, as you correctly pointed out, I better get some more thesis work done!

2. DavidPace.com - March 8, 2008

[… One is that I received { some publicity } from Professor Gordon Watts, a particle physicist (high-energy physics). …]


Leave a Reply

