jump to navigation

Get It All At Once January 26, 2008

Posted by gordonwatts in physics life.
trackback

image The Aspen 2008 winter conference finished last week. I’ve only been once – a long time ago – and it was one of my favorite conferences – talks are 30 minutes long. And every talk is a plenary talk. Unfortunately, the various experiments no long seem to treat it as a “must hit” conference – so they prep their results for the Moriond series of conferences. This makes Aspen a bit less interesting as far as new collider results – but the organizers are much more focused on the theory half than some of the other winter conferences. The conference is small and there is a great deal of interaction (or at least there was when I went):

The conference will cover the latest developments in High Energy Physics, concentrating on the theoretical and experimental exploration of the Higgs sector and alternative models of electroweak symmetry breaking. The schedule and the mixture of foreseen talks are designed to encourage interactions between theorists and experimenters, exposing experimenters to the latest theoretical ideas, while providing a dose of reality to the theorists.

Hmmm… A “dose of reality to the theorists”?🙂 I have to say, the theorists I’ve worked with recently have gotten it pretty well. I wonder who authored that line?🙂

At any rate, I missed this conference again, as usual. But now they are using the CERN agenda server for the conference web page. And the beauty of that system is the little “compressed file” icon at the top of the page. Click it and a giant ZIP file comes down of everything. Now I can take it with my on my flight back to France and read up on everything!

[Update: Well… I’ve never tried this on such a big conference — after 12 hours and over a half gig of downloaded material my internet connection finally broke! Why is it feeding me data at only 12 KB/sec!? No longer as enamored of this feature. :-)]

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

