jump to navigation

What a difference a modern CPU makes! January 23, 2008

Posted by gordonwatts in computers.
trackback

My new Lenovo X61t is doing great. One thing that is so much better than my old m200 is the CPU. My Skype calls actually work now. I can do video. And I can video conference at full bandwidth – and still use my computer for other things. My previous portable barely had the CPU to keep up. And you know what is even better? When on battery and power saver mode, it still has muscle left over – my old portable would just roll over and didn’t even have the spare cycles to laugh at me.

One thing I did this time, btw, was choose a slow processor — the 1.6 GHz dual core CPU (my m200 was a 1.96 GHz Pentium M). This plus modern electronics means my battery will last for almost 4 hours under full usage. That is great for the size and weight and power of this portable. Two years from now I’ll probably buy a new one – wonder what the battery life will be then? And how many cores? And what OS will I be running?🙂

It isn’t without its problems, however.😦

Comments»

1. Dani - January 25, 2008

Congrats on the new computer! Video conferencing is a much more enjoyable experience when the conversations aren’t on a 25 second delay🙂

I see that you mentioned using Skype. Have you give ooVoo a try? It’s a lot of fun if you get a couple of friends together and have a video conference, and it’s totally free. If you try it out and have any questions feel free to let me know. They are a client of ours and we’re always happy to help with any questions.

2. Business Links - February 13, 2008

Also use Skype but conference calls are bit of a nightmare. The quality is very variable. Not sure if this down to the cpu speed of the hosting computer or broadband speeds.

3. gordonwatts - February 13, 2008

I’ve often wished that conferences wouild do the skype conference thing so I didn’t have ot pay to call into a physical conference thing.🙂


Leave a Reply

