jump to navigation

Science v Politics January 5, 2008

Posted by gordonwatts in politics, science.
trackback

The National Academy of the Sciences released a recent report: Science, Evolution and Creationism. I’m not sure who, at the NAS, decided on the release date, but it was a pretty poor choice: the day of the Iowa caucuses. But it has been a few days now, so I thought I’d check to see how it is doing by looking at #’rs of hits in News:

  • NAS report – 337 hits
  • Clinton – 478700 hits
  • Obama – 152100 hits

Oh well. Wishful thinking, I suppose.:-) My favorite headline: “US doomed if creationist president elected: scientists“. This is from the news organization AFP. Never heard of it, but I like it (is it French)?

Comments»

1. Christos@Ann-Arbor - January 5, 2008

“Agence France-Presse”. I am sure you have heard many times of it. It is like the BBC for the French.

2. gordonwatts - January 5, 2008

Christos — thanks. Great to hear from you! Actually, I’ve not – I read some french papers, but mostly standing at the coffee bar in the lab, and they are local papers…

3. Dave Bacon - January 6, 2008

That headline reminds me of one of my favorites from the English translation of Pravda: “U.S. Scientists Save World With Calculation.” Seems that there had been a calculation showing an asteroid was going to hit the Earth, and some scientists went back and redid the calculations and came to the conclusion that the asteroid would not hit the Earth.

4. gordonwatts - January 6, 2008

Dave — Indeed, there are some classic headlines. Someone should keep a website of all them for lunch-time entertainment.🙂


Leave a Reply

