jump to navigation

Karma June 30, 2007

Posted by gordonwatts in computers.
trackback

Yes. Jobs got me. I wrote that iPhone blog posting the day before yesterday and yesterday. Early yesterday my main Windows computer’s hard disk started giving me S.M.A.R.T errors and then this morning my cell phone basically up and died (the white screen of death). And all the day before I travel to Europe.

That is the power of Karma. I will always worship Apple from now on.. I will always worship Apple from now on… I will always worship Apple from now on…

On the other hand, recovering the computer was pretty easy. When the error occured, Vista asked me (repeatedly) to make an image backup. I did to one of those USB drives. I then purchased a new 500 GB hard drive. Because Dell’s engineering is so good, I was able to swap out the old drive in about 5 minutes with no tools. Then I booted from Vista’s DVD, selected restore-from-image, and two hours later I had my computer back right where I’d left it a few hours before. With a new drive. That was sweet!

Now, getting the cell phone fixed is going to be almost impossible. It looks like a hardware problem to me.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

