jump to navigation

ATLAS Meeting Observations March 21, 2007

Posted by gordonwatts in physics life.
trackback

I’m sitting in the Top Quark meeting for CERN. A few things:

  • They are studying more systematic errors on their MC than we have on our data.
  • The room is packed. I think the number of people here is about equivalent to the combined total in the D0 physics groups.
  • I can’t see a single Apple computer. This is very odd as just about everyone I know is switching to the Apple.
  • I’m surrounded by students. And they are all switching between taking notes in Word (I kid you not) and using face book and using IM. All at once!
  • It is kind-a cool to see ATLAS reference Tevatron results.
  • The fraction of women over here is much higher than in the US.
  • I’m seeing about half of the people I saw last week at Fermilab here.
  • My email is full of emails from D0 people. It is odd looking around here and seeing some of them here.

Comments»

1. Christos - March 21, 2007

“I can’t see a single Apple computer. This is very odd as just about everyone I know is switching to the Apple.”

I could not resist posting a link here (at least till it gets censored…):
http://www.thebestpageintheuniverse.net/c.cgi?u=macs_cant

2. Gordon Watts - March 22, 2007

Crap! I tried to look at that during a big meeting here at CERN. I’ll have to look at that link later when I’m on my own…


Leave a Reply

