jump to navigation

A Scary 2 Hours March 19, 2007

Posted by gordonwatts in computers.
trackback

I arrived at CERN yesterday. Did some work, went out to dinner, got back home and did a little more work. I put my portable to sleep. I put myself to sleep.

This morning I turned my portable back on and was greeted with the dreaded “IDE #0 Error”… no hard disk! No OS! I was suddenly faced with the prospect of actually listening to all the talks this week rather than getting work done!

A Phillips head screwdriver later, however, I found out what had really happened. The new hard disk we installed in this machine several months ago is too short! All the turbulence on the flight over must have worked it loose so it no longer was connected to the portable.

Whew. I can’t tell you how relieved I was when I opened the portable up to look… Disaster averted!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

