jump to navigation

Change In Attitude December 24, 2006

Posted by gordonwatts in life.
trackback

Once nice thing about being on break is catching up with other people’s blogs.

On the other hand, parenthood tends to make you revel in the small injuries and indignities to which children are subjected (or inadvertently subject themselves). Before, upon observing an inattentive child walk headlong into a fence post, I would gasp in alarm and rush to his aid; now I’ll roar with laughter and take a mental snapshot of the scene, something to chuckle over for months to come. It’s a little bit of rebellion against our masters.

So true!

Comments»

1. Carl Brannen - December 24, 2006

Well, I don’t have any kids and didn’t laugh, but didn’t feel outraged or great sympathy. In short, I didn’t get the joke. Every now and then I try to get a nice photo of a pet, but you can’t reason with a pet and expect them to cooperate.

It all boils down to how one obtains compliance from subservient creatures. I can see how it is easy to get caught up in a desire to produce a nice photograph and to put that at a higher priority than the contentment of oneself and ones’ children. I guess if it had been me, I’d have taken the photograph too, sent it out, and laughed, because the laughter is at oneself.

2. gordonwatts - December 25, 2006

So, Carl. I’m not sure where to start.🙂

First of all, I like how you use the word “subservient”. When it comes to kids, it is them over you, not you over them.

Second, I think the humor comes from most of us thinking, pre-kids, that kids are fragile. And when they cry or complain you have to drop everything and take care of the problem.

It turns out not to be the case. They are, for the most part, indestructable. They have to be given the # of times they run into things (like walls, tables, and, in particular, the ground).

3. Carl Brannen - December 27, 2006

My guess is that parents are subservient to their children in roughly the same manner that the politicians are subservient to the people of the US. Maybe I’m wrong here. When I was a kid, I had no doubt that I did what I was told. It could be that my generation was the one that got subservient on both ends.

A couple years ago, a 7 yearold nephew greeted me by running up to me, rotating by pi on a vertical axis, and passing wind. I asked my dad about this, and he said that if he’d done that, he wouldn’t have lived. As for me, revenge being best served cold, I am waiting another 21 years, at which time I will return the favor. This gives me a reason to maintain my health.


Leave a Reply

