jump to navigation

You Have My Permission… December 18, 2006

Posted by gordonwatts in life.
trackback

About two weeks ago I had to do something that just didn’t feel right: give my wife permission to travel with Julia, our kid, without me there.

It was as if I had to write down something that has always been implicit in our relationship: that I trust her (heck, I trust her more than myself with Julia). Having to write that down and get it notarized just seemed, well, as if society didn’t trust me (or her) and so we had to make our trust official.

The background is fairly simple, and probably reasonable, no matter how it made me feel: immigration will often request a notarized document when a single parent travels with the kid that the other parent has given permission. I’m sure this is trying to deal with child custody problems.

I just got a text message from Paula. She arrived in Canada about 30 minutes ago (without me), and she needed the document to get into the country.

The world we live in.

Comments»

1. David McGloin - December 19, 2006

I was at UW for six months this year and my wife made the same trip with our two kids. We had not realised that such a note was necessary and she got a bit of hassle at immigration. However they did let her over the border without the note which makes the whole thing rather redundant. She didn’t point out that she could have just written the note and signed it with my name – that was all they wanted, a signed note. If she had been smuggling the kids over the border I doubt she’d have worried about a little forgery!

2. gordonwatts - December 19, 2006

Huh. We had it notarized in the end thinking that a letter with just our signatures wouldn’t have been good enough…

In some ways I’m glad they’ve not plugged all the wholes. Imagine if this world actually lived by every single rule that was on the books…

3. paula - December 20, 2006

I waited until the guy asked me if I had letter – but I don’t know what would have happened if I hadn’t had one. Maybe just a stern warning?


Leave a Reply

