jump to navigation

The Differences Between Europe and the US December 12, 2006

Posted by gordonwatts in travel.
trackback

CIMG9611Sunday afternoon I arrived here in Geneva for a week of work on ATLAS. Never mind that I’ve spent the time since then working mostly on UW stuff.

I’ve not been here in a while, and I’d forgotten several things. For example: walking into the airport I hit by… cigarette smoke — something I never smell in the US.

And my rental car. It is a VW passat, diesel, shift. It is a nice car: spritely and fast. If VW wasn’t having quality problems I’d probably try to get Paula to buy one. This was an upgrade. On my last trip to Chicago they gave me a upgrade as well (I always get the cheapest car possible). It was a Chrysler 300. A typical American car: large, small windows, mushy accelerator. The European version is so much more fun to drive!

And then there is a hotel room. I was in a Marriott Courtyard with free Internet a huge (very comfortable bed) last time I was in Chicago for $50 bucks. Here I’m paying 60 Euros (about 75 bucks) and the bed mattress is very thin, one towel in the whole place, no Internet. On the other hand, my US hotel window view was the parking lot. Check out the view above that I have here: the Jura.

And with the weak dollar everything here is soo expensive!

Comments»

1. Fighting Jet Lag « Life as a Physicist - December 12, 2006

[…] In order to redeem myself after a 2 hour nap that I almost didn’t get out of bed after (really comfortable bed for that nap!), I went to visit a friend of mine from Chicago who is currently living in Lausanne, a city about an hour’s drive from Geneva. Shelley found a great place — one of the few that was open on Sunday (another difference between here and America). […]

2. America « Life as a Physicist - December 20, 2006

[…] I’m in Chicago right now, at Fermilab. They upgraded my rental car here too, just like in Europe. But here it was a Chevy HHR that I ended up with. I swear, driving this thing feels like I’m driving a water tank truck: each time I go around a corner the whole back end trys to slosh over. The upgrade to the VW passat I had was so much nicer. […]

3. Chrysler 300c - January 18, 2008

I would agree with you on that your Chrysler 300 comment – the Euro version is much more pronouce than our american version. I know this was only a small part of the article – but I am passionate about Chrysler 300’s🙂 thanks

4. gordonwatts - January 18, 2008

Interesting — I didn’t realize there was a difference between the two versions. I’ve not gotten a chance to drive the European version of the 300.


Leave a Reply

