jump to navigation

Where Am I? October 24, 2006

Posted by gordonwatts in physics life.
trackback

As you’ve noted, I’ve not posted much recently. I’d like to claim work. The DPF conference is at the root of the problem. I’m giving two talks, which I’m busy writing, trying to get an analysis released, and I’m on a review board for several analyses that are seeking approval for release. Finally, I’m at an ATLAS workshop at Berkeley, which means I’ve lost my normal working hours to that.

I’m not sure why, but writing these talks causes me much more stress than actually giving them. That has never made sense to me. Ok, back to writing them.

Comments»

1. Dave Bacon - October 24, 2006

I’ve been trying to keep track of how much time I spend writing talks in comparison to the length of the talk. The ratio so far is not good. I blame powerpoint animations.

2. Andy - October 25, 2006

I’m in the same hell. Writing two talks for DPF. In fact, I’ve probably spent about 20% of my time writing various talks this month. But they are important – almost as important as papers – after all, what fraction of physics / results from other experiments have you learned from watching talks vs. reading journals?
But yes, it’s stressful. For one thing, there’s a deadline! We aren’t used to those…🙂
But look on the bright side. Soon we’ll be in Hawaii!

3. kenny jones - May 31, 2007

I was thinking of using a plasma to encapsolate cabon in the transferance of photosyntheses to useable current in solar collection panels. My thought was that of the reaction that nitro has to sunlight. If properly packaged could the instability of the reaction be harnessed into a viable conduit of tranferance as in the steam from the reaction of fuel cells?


Leave a Reply

