jump to navigation

Another Laptop Goes Boom September 19, 2006

Posted by gordonwatts in travel.
trackback

Several airlines have banned all Apple and Dell laptops now. Here is an IBM laptop exploding. I love my long lasting batteries, but of course that means more energy per cubic centimeter, and probably means more chance of the battery going up (if it has the appropriate manufacturing defects). Airlines, who can’t be bothered with checking each battery to see if it has been recalled, will eventually just ban them all. I’d actually have to check luggage.

I can’t think of a way out of this. Can you? I hope it is not as inevitable as it seems.

Comments»

1. Alejandro Rivero - September 19, 2006

Use the train. Ok that can imply two or three days travel, even more if ferrys are needed. But think about adventages: More time to do the slides, review things, etc. Get a UMTS phone to be able to download the preprints when wifi is not available. Schedule student tutories to be done viea skype or gizmo (I use gizmo because it runs in Noka 770).

2. dorigo - September 19, 2006

Hmmm Gordon, I think you are pessimistic because you have a mac. That was one of the brands which was banned, wasnt it ?
I bet you 2$ they won’t ban sony (I have a vaio)🙂
T.

3. gordonwatts - September 19, 2006

T: I have a Toshiba, no boom reports for it yet. Tablet PC, of which I’m as much a fanatic as Mac people are about Mac’s. As far as I know, no Sony’s have been banned. Which is ironic considering the exploding batteries were all made by Sony.

A: I love the train. And the boat. I went to a conference in Victoria, BC once. It was a 4 hour boat ride from down-town Seattle. It was fantastic. Got a lot done, was very relaxing, no fear of falling 30,000 feet, and a great place to toss anything that was on fire.🙂 I like your idea of using skype on the train — but aren’t those servces too expensive? Like 80 or 90 bucks a month?


Leave a Reply

