jump to navigation

Good Help is Hard To Find August 22, 2006

Posted by gordonwatts in computers.
trackback

When I first started arranging the OSG conference Henry, a co-worker, told me to make sure I got good help. Well, he was right. Check this out.

I meant to arrive at about 7:30 this morning. I left my house on my bike with plenty of time to spare. Unfortunately, on the way some twit in a van pulled out of a street without looking and two cyclists (in a bike lane) crashed into the van. No one was hurt, which was pretty amazing, but I stuck around to make sure every one was ok. I ended up arriving at about 8:15. The conference was to start at 9am and I still had a talk to finish writing!

Everything had been setup already. When I walked up to the registration table to ask what problems there were, the response I got was “go away, you are distracting us” (well, they were nicer than that, but you get the idea). The whole date went rather smoothly. People seemed to enjoy themselves and I didn’t get any real complaints…

So, thanks to Susan, Steffi, Todd, and Dave for making this go so smoothly. I think I had almost nothing that I needed to do! This is the first conference I’ve ever organized and these four have made it seem easy.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

