jump to navigation

Stir Crazy July 17, 2006

Posted by gordonwatts in life, university.
trackback

The last time I left Seattle early June. I’ve not stayed in Seattle for that long in a long time. I’ve missed several conferences I’d really have liked to have gone to: ATLAS Stockholm, a DZERO collaboration meeting, a fascinating statistics conference in Banff (I note that some of the MC singletop datasets from DZERO are being looked at), and a US ATLAS meeting in Boston. I’m going to miss a few more too. Normally, the summer is a time to travel and attend meetings at teaching responsibilities are at a minimum! Instead I’ve spent most of my time at home, going into UW when I can. It is the waiting and not knowing when I can get back to establishing a rhythm that gets to me!

Comments»

1. andy.s - July 18, 2006

So does the whole department shut down for the summer? I need to get some signatures for the NM classes I’m taking and my contact doesn’t answer email or phone?

2. Kevin - July 18, 2006

When is Paula due? I send my best wishes from the mitten state!

In response to your previous post about the stress of being an assistant professor, etc. not matching the wait: I’m submitting my first NSF grant on Thursday. I think I would actually be more stressed if I thought I had half a chance of it getting funded. Anyway it’s a good experience and I can always improve. Blah blah blah. Actually I rather enjoyed writing this proposal, but I would really like to debug my CCD camera too! Lucky for me, my postdoc is starting to fire on all cylinders and can now do our complicated experiments.


Leave a Reply

