jump to navigation

That Figures July 7, 2006

Posted by gordonwatts in computers.
trackback

Recently, if I don’t have an email client with a spam filter running, I’ve seen a lot of spam. Found this from the university computing center in my inbox this morning:

Junk email is on the rise everywhere. At the UW, over 65% of the 2 million email messages (on average) coming in each day are now spam. The cause? Personal computers infected by viruses that install spam bot software let spammers remotely jump from one zombie machine to another, blasting out a thousand spam messages as they go.

This jumping from machine to machine means the spam filters can’t keep up. My version of Outlook does a pretty good job, but when I look at my email through the web interaface… whew! I can have over 100 messages in my Inbox, start up the spam filter, and have it reduced to about 40. Ugh.

On the other hand, I’m trying to use IM more and more to get away from email!

Comments»

1. Pyracantha - July 7, 2006

I find many of these spams entertaining…I’ve made poems out of their surrealistic word salad. And one “strain” of them is populated by a nonsense-word generator which creates pronounceable but meaningless “words” which I am collecting, in hopes of creating an imaginary language.


Leave a Reply

