jump to navigation

Getting Old… May 18, 2006

Posted by gordonwatts in life.
trackback

I did a cool demo yesterday that involved a old TV set to show a close up of the demo. After finished, I turned off the camera feeding the TV, but not the TV.

Five minutes further into my lecture and a student sitting near the TV asked me to turn off the TV as well. I gave a confused look, and all the students sitting near the TV started nodding their heads: "please!". So, I turned it off, and was a little disturbed by the sign of relief.

Turns out it was generating one of those really high pitched sounds. You know. The ones that old people can't year, but young ones can?

A sure sign…

Comments»

1. Life as a Physicist » More Signs I’m Getting Old - June 12, 2006

[…] First, along the lines of a previous posting about my hearing going, is this article from the NYTimes: In that old battle of the wills between young people and their keepers, the young have found a new weapon that could change the balance of power on the cell phone front: a ring tone that many adults cannot hear. […]


Leave a Reply

