jump to navigation

Known The World Around May 9, 2006

Posted by gordonwatts in computers.
trackback

A long time ago I wrote a small utility that would download large files over the web, in the background. I stuck it up on SourceForge, and called it WebDrizzler. I still use it to download large root files from Fermilab pretty frequently. It is no frills, no slick graphics, but it gets the job done. I figured no one else knew about it other than me (it has had a whopping 11 downloads and I suspect 10 of them are from me).

I'm installing my new computer and I needed to get it. I can never remember the URL so I did a search for it. Mostly the links are automatic repeaters that scan SourceForge for new releases. But the third one leads to a talk by a consulting company that was trying to explain how it open source licences work… and WebDrizzler was used as an example.

Weird!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

