jump to navigation

What is Facebook? April 23, 2006

Posted by gordonwatts in university.
trackback

Earlier this month I posted about Gen-X and the university. A comment was left:

Since you already got MSN and AIM, why not get a Facebook? Us undergraduates would love it! =)

So… ummm. What is facebook (yeah, I know I'm old)? I've never heard of it before. I looked at their web site (didn't really want to log in). But it wasn't obvious. Is it like myspace?

BTW, for some reason that comment got marked as spam, and I missed that until just today. Sorry about that!

Comments»

1. a cornellian - April 24, 2006

it’s like my space, only a tad more controlled. You will find out intersting things, like which of your under age students have drinking problems.

2. gordonwatts - April 24, 2006

That is almost enough reson to join on its own!🙂

3. chip - April 26, 2006

hey, dude…even an old guy like me is on facebook…!

4. gordonwatts - April 26, 2006

Wow. And you are old, Chip!🙂 Do you use it for teaching or just for keeping in touch?

5. chip - April 26, 2006

I teach an honors course on the history of physics for non-science students and one of the things that I stress is biography and “stories.” I’m often distressed at the portrayal of scientists and want them to get the picture that science is done by people, after all, and that we’re really pretty much normal folks (althought there was not much “normal” about Kepler, Galileo, Descartes, the Bernoulli’s, and Newton…”normal” happens when physics becomes a more mainstream activity).

So, I don’t “use” it as such, rather I participate just like they do listing the sorts of things I like – music, books, movies, etc. They get into the act by inviting me to be “friends” and the cross linking among us is a part of the process. It’s fun and can imagine why it is so popular.

6. chip - April 26, 2006

..and, hey. I’m younger than Henry🙂

7. Gordon Watts - April 26, 2006

Thanks, Chip! I’ll keep that in mind for a few years from now when I teach again. Next year is all labs.

8. Sara - November 26, 2007

What is the difference from myspace and facebook? How do you make a facebook?

9. Mercades - December 14, 2007

Does facebook cost anything?

10. gordonwatts - December 14, 2007

Sara — I think they are mostly different in the people who use them. Depends what your friends join — if they join Myspace, so should you.

I think you make a login page by just signing up. I’ve never signed up, so I don’t know.

Mercades — as far as I know it is free. You just have to deal with ads, but they don’t seem to be too overwhelming.


Leave a Reply

