jump to navigation

Crash… March 24, 2006

Posted by gordonwatts in physics life.
trackback

These two weeks drawing to my close is my spring break. My vacation. My original plan was to spend the first week closing out the class I taught and helping with some technical issues that are blocking analyses I’m involved with at DZERO. The first week went as planed.

The second week was to take it easy. Go out in downtown Chicago with friends. See some live music. Relax. Have some fun making plots with the new data and simulations that DZERO has been working hard to produce. This week is almost done. I can’t believe that in 3 days I’ll be standing in front of a class teaching again!

This second week has not gone as planned. Instead, the technical problems from the first week have spilled over into the second week. As the week gets shorter and shorter I’ve been working harder and harder to get it done so I can relax. Of course, two weeks of pushing myself and… crash! I skipped a bunch of meetings yesterday and basically just stayed in bed most of the morning.

A friend of mine laughed at the idea of coming out here to Fermilab to take a vacation. Well… I did see a band. Unfortunately, this technical problem is blocking a large number of analyses, and I had a hand in making the design decision that lead down this path — so I’m responsible enough that I don’t feel like I can walk away and take a break.

Perhaps teaching will be a good break! And the weekend after I get back is Paula’s birthday and we will be taking a trip up to Vancouver with friends. I’ll bring my portable, but no work!

Comments»

1. paula - March 24, 2006

“I’ll bring my portable, but no work.” hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

2. gordonwatts - March 25, 2006

Ouch.😦 Gotta love my wife!


Leave a Reply

