jump to navigation

First LHC Collisions at ATLAS November 23, 2009

Posted by gordonwatts in ATLAS, LHC.
trackback

If you follow newspapers, facebook, or twitter, you’ve undoubtedly seen these already – but the LHC has done it – managed to collide two beams of protons! They never made it that far last year. Here is an event from ATLAS:

atlas2009-collision-vp1-140541-171897-new[1]

That isn’t to say there is a lot of work left to do. These are at an energy 900 GeV, which is much less than the 7,000 GeV energy they plan to get up to by the end of running in 2010. And the beams are not very intense yet. Still!!!

I’m currently in Seattle – I wish I could have been there for this. Being in or around the control room – though I would have been mostly in the way for this phase. Unlike at the Tevatron, I wasn’t really responsible for any bit of the detector or DAQ at ATLAS – and those are the people that need to be there right now. Still, I would have loved to have been there.

Ironically, I first heard about these collisions from facebook. People in the control room that I’m friends with were posting status updates as LHC tuned up their beam. Press release, twitter, etc., all lagged behind that. And of the people I’m friends with a theorist posted the news second (!) – this theorist was not the member of any collaboration. Ahhh… new media! ;-)

So, taking that sentiment to the limit. I must now ignore the LHC and get back to preparing for class! Must. Not. Look. At. Accelerator. Status. <said in best Cptn’ Kirk voice>.

(more events will be posted here as they show up).

Comments»

1. Gordon Stangler - November 25, 2009

I actually found out from Cosmic Variance, as they had two blog posts up, then I got a google alert about it.

Heck, I read a bit from various sites, then posted my two (worthless) cents on my blog.

Anyway, here is hoping the LHC does a good job in finding super partners to current particles.

2. Gordon Watts - November 26, 2009

Ha! This is big – and lots of tax payer $$ goes into this – so in some sense everyone gets to share this! :-)

3. Peter Kaminsky - November 26, 2009

Interesting! I am a college sophomore with a dual major in Physics and Mathematics @ University of Canterbury in Christchurch, New Zealand. One of my Professors was discussing about this the other day. By the way, i came across these excellent physics flash cards. Its also a great initiative by the FunnelBrain team. Amazing!!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 42 other followers

